College Houses - Charisms and Outreach

Students joining Sacred Heart College are welcomed into one of four College Houses; Julian, Quinlan, Delany and Xavier. Each House has an inspirational hero, a specific charism value and an agency that students work to support throughout each year. 

The Houses have a vital role in service and outreach within our Catholic community and every member of each of the four College Houses learns and lives that service.  The prime purpose of our House system is to give voice and action to outreach.


- Named for Archbishop Patrick Delany, Archbishop of Hobart 1907-1926, and a great supporter of the Sisters of St Joseph. Through Delany we focus on values of Co-operation and Service and work to support St Vincent de Paul, assisting people experiencing poverty and inequality across Australia.


JULIAN - Named for Father Julian Tenison Woods co-founder of the Sisters of St Joseph. Through Julian we focus on values of Respect and the Environment and work to support international aid agency, Caritas, with an annual focus on Project Compassion.


- Named for Sister Hyacinth Quinlan SSJ, Sister Guardian at Sacred Heart from 1905-1913. Through Quinlan we focus on values of Achievement and Learning and work to support Mary MacKillop International, focusing on the development of sustainable programmes to support health and education in Timor-Leste.

- Named for Sister Xavier Canty SSJ, Principal of Sacred Heart from 1921-1933. Through Xavier we focus on values of Empathy and Compassion, and work to support Catholic Mission, the international mission agency of the Catholic Church in Australia.